The Sunken Road

10.79

This is a powerful and gripping novel about love, loyalty, and obsession set during World War I and the Irish Civil War.

Peek Inside

Out of stock

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Description

‘Ciarán McMenamin confirms his exceptional talent with this admirably powerful and authentic novel about the First World War and the struggle for Irish independence. Tremendous’ William Boyd

Longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction

Annie, Francie and Archie were inseparable growing up, but in 1914 the boys are seduced by the drama of the Great War. Before leaving their small Irish village for the trenches, Francie promises his true love Annie that he will bring her little brother home safe.

Six years later Francie is on the run, a wanted man in the Irish war of Independence. He needs Annie’s help to escape safely across the border, but that means confronting the truth about why Archie never came back….

For readers of Sebastian Faulks, Ian McEwan and Sebastian Barry

Read a sample here

Additional information

Weight 219 g
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 1.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

256

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Description

This product has been automatically created by the plugin YITH Gift Cards.You must not edit it, or the plugin could not work properly. The main functionality of this product is to be used for the feature "Gift this product"