The second sight of Zachary Cloudesley

11.99

Leadenhall Street, London, 1754. Raised amongst the cogs and springs of his father’s workshop, Zachary Cloudesley has grown up surrounded by strange and enchanting clockwork automata. He is a happy child, beloved by his father Abel and the workmen who help bring his father’s creations to life. He is also the bearer of an extraordinary gift; at the touch of a hand, Zachary can see into the hearts and minds of the people he meets. But then a near-fatal accident will take Zachary away from the workshop and his family. His father will have to make a journey to Constantinople that he will never return from. And, years later, only Zachary can find out what happened.

Peek Inside

In stock

Check the box below to add a card to the basket. Please use ‘Notes’ to indicate occasion and your message

Do you feel this product is perfect for a friend or a loved one? You can buy a gift card for this item! Gift this product
SKU: 9781804990940 Category: Tag:

Description

A BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick and Sunday Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month, for fans of PANDORA, THE ESSEX SERPENT and THE NIGHT CIRCUS.

Longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2023 and the Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award 2023.

‘I just fell in love with it within the first two sentences . . .’ – Ruth Jones

‘One of the best books I’ve read this year . . . completely unforgettable’ – Bonnie Garmus

——

Zachary Cloudesley is gifted in a remarkable way. But not all gifts are a blessing…

Leadenhall Street, London, 1754.

Raised amongst the cogs and springs of his father’s workshop, Zachary Cloudesley has grown up surrounded by strange and enchanting clockwork automata. He is a happy child, beloved by his father Abel and the workmen who help bring his father’s creations to life.

He is also the bearer of an extraordinary gift; at the touch of a hand, Zachary can see into the hearts and minds of the people he meets.

But then a near-fatal accident will take Zachary away from the workshop and his family. His father will have to make a journey that he will never return from. And, years later, only Zachary can find out what happened.

A beautifully crafted historical mystery of love and hope, and the adventure of finding your place in the world.
——

‘Packed with intrigue, vividly drawn characters and heartstopping emotion, this beautifully written, ingeniously crafted debut is absolutely enthralling’ – Sunday Express

‘Really transports you to a different time and place’ Sara Cox, Radio Times

‘A dashing, magical debut . . . intricately plotted, and peopled with intriguing characters’ – Daily Mail

What readers are saying:
‘an excellent historical, magical realist novel’
‘beautifully written’
‘full of love and humour’
‘original and rich in historical detail’
‘my best book of 2022’
‘totally engrossing . . . unforgettable’

Read a sample here

Additional information

Weight 251 g
Dimensions 0.1 × 12.7 × 2.2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

355

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

No fields found, please go to settings & save/reset fields

Description

This product has been automatically created by the plugin YITH Gift Cards.You must not edit it, or the plugin could not work properly. The main functionality of this product is to be used for the feature "Gift this product"