The Bandit Queens

11.99

A darkly irreverent and fresh take on a feminist revenge thriller, perfect for readers of My Sister the Serial Killer, How To Kidnap The Rich and the Sharon Horgan series Bad Sisters.

In stock

Check the box below to add a card to the basket. Please use ‘Notes’ to indicate occasion and your message

Do you feel this product is perfect for a friend or a loved one? You can buy a gift card for this item! Gift this product
SKU: 9781838957179 Category: Tag:

Description

Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2023 A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2023

For Geeta, life as a widow is more peaceful than life as a wife…Until the other women in her village decide they want to be widows, too. Geeta is believed to have killed her vanished husband – a rumour she hasn’t bothered trying to correct, because a reputation like that can keep a single woman safe in rural India. But when she’s approached for help in ridding another wife of her abusive drunk of a husband, her reluctant agreement sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of all the women in the village….

A darkly irreverent and fresh take on a feminist revenge thriller, perfect for readers of My Sister the Serial Killer, How To Kidnap The Rich and the Sharon Horgan series Bad Sisters.

__________________________________

‘Tender, unpredictable, brimming with laugh-out-loud moments’ Tea Obreht, author of THE TIGER’S WIFE
‘Original, memorable, and endearing’ Charmaine Wilkerson, author of BLACK CAKE
‘A rollicking mash-up of adventure story, thriller, dark revenge, and comedy’ Cristina Garcia, author of DREAMING IN CUBAN
‘Not since Aravind Adiga’s The White Tiger has the rotten core of modern India been exposed in quite such blackly antic fashion as Parini Shroff manages here in this intermittently absurd, feminist revenge caper about a group of snarky, much-abused, predominantly Hindu wives…sheer gutsy verve.’ The Times
‘A darkly funny revenge drama rooted in the reality of rural India . . . [A] vivid, unsentimental story that succeeds in being both satirical and moving.’ Guardian

 

Additional information

Weight 283 g
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.8 × 2.5 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

416

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

No fields found, please go to settings & save/reset fields

Description

This product has been automatically created by the plugin YITH Gift Cards.You must not edit it, or the plugin could not work properly. The main functionality of this product is to be used for the feature "Gift this product"