Entangled Life

15.59

There is a lifeform so strange and wondrous that it forces us to rethink how life works. Neither plant nor animal, it is found throughout the earth, the air and our bodies. It can be microscopic, yet also accounts for the largest organisms ever recorded, living for millennia and weighing tens of thousands of tonnes. Its ability to digest rock enabled the first life on land, it can survive unprotected in space, and thrives amidst nuclear radiation. In this captivating adventure, Merlin Sheldrake explores the spectacular and neglected world of fungi: endlessly surprising organisms that sustain nearly all living systems.

Peek Inside

In stock

Check the box below to add a card to the basket. Please use ‘Notes’ to indicate occasion and your message

Do you feel this product is perfect for a friend or a loved one? You can buy a gift card for this item! Gift this product

Description

The smash-hit Sunday Times and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller that will transform your understanding of our planet and life itself.

‘Dazzling, vibrant, vision-changing’ Robert Macfarlane

Winner of the Royal Society Science Book Prize 2021

Winner of the Wainwright Prize for Conservation Writing 2021

The more we learn about fungi, the less makes sense without them. They can change our minds, heal our bodies and even help us avoid environmental disaster; they are metabolic masters, earth-makers and key players in most of nature’s processes. In Entangled Life, Merlin Sheldrake takes us on a mind-altering journey into their spectacular world, and reveals how these extraordinary organisms transform our understanding of our planet and life itself.

‘Gorgeous!’ Margaret Atwood (on Twitter)

‘Reads like an adventure story… Wondrous’ Sunday Times

‘Urgent, astounding and necessary’ Helen Macdonald


Perfect for fans of David Attenborough’s The Green Planet and The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben

* A Sunday Times, Daily Telegraph, New Statesman, The Times, Evening Standard, Mail on Sunday, BBC Science Focus, TLS and Time Book of the Year *

Read a sample here

Additional information

Weight 340 g
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 2.7 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

358 , 16 unnumbered of plates

Language

English

Edition
Dewey

579.5 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

Description

This product has been automatically created by the plugin YITH Gift Cards.You must not edit it, or the plugin could not work properly. The main functionality of this product is to be used for the feature "Gift this product"