Shardlake Series 02: Dark Fire

13.18

The second Shardlake novel in C. J. Sansom’s bestselling historical crime series. A secret thought lost to the ages has been uncovered in Tudor London, and it’s worth killing to protect . . .

In stock

Check the box below to add a card to the basket. Please use ‘Notes’ to indicate occasion and your message

Do you feel this product is perfect for a friend or a loved one? You can buy a gift card for this item! Gift this product

Description

‘C. J. Sansom’s books are arguably the best Tudor novels going’ – The Sunday Times

Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling book in C. J. Sansom’s number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

England, 1540. Out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, Matthew Shardlake is intent on keeping a low profile in the courts. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally killing her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the King’s chief minister – and a new assignment . . .

The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries. Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother brutally murdered – the formula gone.

Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while still trying to prove his young client’s innocence. But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems . . .

This is the second novel in C. J. Sansom’s gripping historical series. It is followed by Sovereign, the third book in the series.

Additional information

Weight 408 g
Dimensions 19.8 × 13 × 3.7 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

608

Language

English

Edition

|Reprint

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

You may also like…

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.

No fields found, please go to settings & save/reset fields

Description

This product has been automatically created by the plugin YITH Gift Cards.You must not edit it, or the plugin could not work properly. The main functionality of this product is to be used for the feature "Gift this product"