Crystal Run Shield Of Lies

8.39

Runners are the privileged few. Bestowed the honour of protecting their country, Runners bring wealth and glory to their families. Yet, upon fulfilling their oath, a Runner’s life must expire. A lot happened since Kaia, fastest and strongest Runner of her cycle, swore to protect her country. Risking their lives, Kaia and Joe travelled through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia’s protective shield. Thwarted at every step, the teenagers made troubling and frightening discoveries, threatening the safety of all Carcassians. Are Kaia’s trusted and powerful leaders liars? Have dozens of teenage Runners been sent to their death for nothing but the comfort and riches of the privileged few? All their efforts in vain, Kaia and Joe are taken prisoner. They must escape. They must find out the truth.

In stock

Check the box below to add a card to the basket. Please use ‘Notes’ to indicate occasion and your message

Description

The gripping follow-up to The Crystal Run from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author, for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.

‘I know how much you love Carcassia. You were prepared to die for it. It must be terrible to realise that you have been betrayed.’

Kaia is from a world in which blind sacrifice is a virtue, and a Runner’s life expendable.

It took Joe, an outsider, to show her that she must question the truth.

Now, Kaia and Joe have been taken prisoner.

Trusting her sworn enemies is the only way out.

Kaia and Joe must risk their lives and return to Carcassia to prevent more Runners from racing to their death.

Praise for The Crystal Run:

‘Brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest – a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action’ – LoveReading4Kids

‘Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests’ – Sunday Independent

‘Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us an
exciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue’ – Inis

‘O’Flanagan’s writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft’ – Belfast Telegraph

Additional information

Weight 240 g
Dimensions 19.6 × 12.8 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

325

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

Join Waitlist We will inform you when the product arrives in stock. Please leave your valid email address below.